Department of Skill Development and Industrial Training, Haryana

The objective of the Department is to promote vocational training in the State and to reduce unemployment among the educated youth by providing them skill/ technical training for employment / self employment. Skilled workers are essential input for industrialization, modernization and promotion of trade and business. The department, keeping in view of the above mentioned objectives, is imparting training under various schemes.


The following Institutions are functioning in the Haryana State

  • Govt. Industrial Training Institutes (GITIs) - 172 (77472 Seats)
  • Private Industrial Training Institutes(PITIs) - 242 (46768 Seats)
  • Govt. Institute for Training of Trainers(ITOT) - 01 (300 Seats)
  • Private Institute for Training of Trainers (ITOT) - 04 (1340 Seats)
  • Total number of Institutes(ITIs, ITOTs) - 419
  • Total sanctioned seats in ITIs (Under CTS scheme) - 1,24,240
  • Total no. of Trades running in ITIs - 76
  • Total sanctioned seats in ITOTs 1640 Total no. of Trades running in ITOTs – 8


Skill Development and Industrial Training Department, Haryana is providing skill training through various schemes and programmes under the aegis of National Council of Vocational Training / Director General Training, Ministry of Skill Development & Entrepreneurship, Govt. of India:

  • Craftsmen Training Scheme
  • Apprenticeship Training Scheme
  • Craft Instructor Training Scheme (CITS)

Craftsmen Training Scheme

  • To provide skilled craftsmen to Industries.
  • To provide self-employment opportunities through Industrial Training

National Apprenticeship Promotion Scheme (NAPS)


Apprenticeship Act, 1961 provides to create training facilities in different trades in various establishments, regulate and control of training of apprentices. The Apprenticeship Act is implemented through Central Apprenticeship Advisor/State Apprenticeship Advisor in their respective areas. Inspite of the mandatory provisions of the Act, the potential to engage the apprentices have been not fully tapped, so far. In order to promote


Total 12959 Government and Private establishment have been registered and 110892 apprentices have been appointed since launch of National Apprenticeship Promotion Scheme on 19.08.2016. Haryana was ranked no. 1 in the Country in engaging maximum apprentices per lakh of State population in the year 2017-18 and has maintained the same position till date. • In addition to designated trades, apprentices are also being engaged in Optional trades under Apprenticeship Act, 1961. Candidates possessing short term skilling certificates issued by HSDM/SSCs/NCVT are also being engaged as apprentices.

Craft Instructor Training Scheme (CITS)


Objective of the Craft Instructor Training scheme is to train Instructors in the techniques of transferring hands-on skills, in order to train semi-skilled/ skilled manpower for industry. Structure of training programme is such that comprehensive training both in skill development and training methodology is imparted to the trainees. Craft Instructor Training course is of one year duration & National Craft Instructor Certificate awarded to trainees only after successful completion of training.


Under this scheme, five Institutes (1 Govt. & 4 Pvt.) for Training of Trainers (ITOT) are functioning in the state with the objective to provide training (Teaching Methodology/Technology) to the Instructors under Craft Instructor Training Scheme (CITS) and to provide opportunities for the development of Basic instructional skills and manage an ideal training environment.  Govt. ITOT at Rohtak has been established under World Bank assisted VTIP scheme with capacity to train 300 trainers annually.  Admission in GITOT Rohtak is made every year in the month of August in two units each of Fitter, Turner & Mechanic Motor Vehicle trades.  4 nos. Private ITOTs are functioning with a seating capacity of 1340 trainees in different skill areas i.e. Electrician & Wireman, Fitter, Welder, Carpenter, Plumber and Mechanic Diesel at Hisar (2), Sirsa (1) and Ambala (1) under the direct control of DGT, Govt. of India.

[!HTMLBlock~on load popup!]
[!HTMLBlock~scroll to top!]
[!HTMLBlock~Top Register popup!]
Contact Us
Contact Us